Home » About Us » Board of Directors

Board of Directors

SunLine Transit Agency is a Joint Powers Authority, a public agency created by the nine cities of the Coachella Valley and Riverside County.  Each of the member entities appoints one of its elected officials to serve on the SunLine Board of Directors.

Board Meeting

Board Meetings

The majority of all Board meetings are held at noon on the 4th Wednesday of the month, with few exceptions. There is a combined July/August Board meeting, which is held the last Wednesday in July, and a combined November/December meeting, which is held the first Wednesday in December. Special Board meetings may be called by the Chairman, if needed. All meetings are held in the Board Room at the SunLine Transit Agency Thousand Palms Administration Building.

Standing Board Committees

Finance/Audit Committee meets each month, prior to the monthly Board meeting. Committee monitors fiscal transparency by measuring monthly, quarterly and annual fiscal performance goals; works closely with third-party audit firm for fiscal year-end or mid-year audit reviews; reviews all contracts. 

Board Operations Committee meets as needed to review Agency bylaws, policies and procedures; Agency litigation; State & Federal legislative efforts; review of the CEO/General Manager's performance; Agency officer elections – nominating committee; New Board Member orientation. 

Strategic Planning & Operational Committee meets, as needed, to review the Short Range Transit Plan; sets long-range goals and a long-range plan; generates change initiatives to deal with high-stakes issues at the strategic-end of the spectrum; reviews next years’ service goals and the line-item budget; reviews capital projects; provides review and concurrence on SunLine’s performance management benchmarks and goals; attendance at quarterly SunLine Stat meetings - monitoring service operations and spending performance.

Taxi Committee meets each month, prior to the Board meeting, to review topics concerning the regulation of taxicabs, a function of SunLine Services Group and administered by the SunLine Regulatory Administration.

SunLine Transit Agency  / SunLine Services Group
Agency Report of:  Public Official Appointments

Board Members


Russell Betts, Chair
Desert Hot Springs
Troy Strange, Vice Chair
Emmanuel Martinez
Kathleen Kelly
Palm Desert
Ginny Foat
Palm Springs
Ty Peabody
Indian Wells
Greg Pettis
Cathedral City
Robert Radi
La Quinta
G. Dana Hobart
Rancho Mirage
John J. Benoit/Alt. Patricia Cooper
Riverside County








NOTE: All correspondence to above should be addressed to Diane Beebe, Clerk of the Board, SunLine Transit Agency • 32-505 Harry Oliver Trail • Thousand Palms, CA 92276.